تطبيقات الواقع الافتراضي للمرضى الذين يعانون من الإجهاد والألم والقلق

عامر بدارنة

عامر بدارنة

المدير العام شركة المجدوعي للتعليم والتدريب
عامر بدارنة

عامر بدارنة

المدير العام شركة المجدوعي للتعليم والتدريب
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

منذ زمن بعيد ، تم تبني فكرة الإلهاء والإلهاء كإحدى التقنيات التي تساعد في تخفيف الألم ، وكثير منا بالتأكيد لديه تجارب مع ذلك – لذلك نرى أن استخدام لعبة لطفل أثناء فحص الطبيب له أو التصفيق برفق له أثناء الحقن العضلي أو تدليك أسفل الظهر للمرأة في مراحل المخاض. كل هذه الإجراءات البسيطة لها هدف واحد مشترك وهو تحويل الانتباه عن مصدر الألم من خلال التركيز على شيء لطيف أو مختلف تمامًا.

منذ زمن بعيد ، تم تبني فكرة الإلهاء والإلهاء كإحدى التقنيات التي تساعد في تخفيف الألم ، وكثير منا بالتأكيد لديه تجارب مع ذلك – لذلك نرى أن استخدام لعبة لطفل أثناء فحص الطبيب له أو التصفيق برفق له أثناء الحقن العضلي أو تدليك أسفل الظهر للمرأة في مراحل المخاض. كل هذه الإجراءات البسيطة لها هدف واحد مشترك وهو تحويل الانتباه عن مصدر الألم من خلال التركيز على شيء لطيف أو مختلف تمامًا.

وعلاوة على ذلك، تظهر الدراسات أن تأثير الهاء العقل ليس فقط يؤثر “في رأسك”. قد يكون هناك استجابات في أجزاء كثيرة أخرى من الجسم التي تتأثر بالألم مما يؤدي إلى تخفيفها وجعلها اكثر قبولا لدى المتألم.

تطبيقات الواقع الافتراضي كأداة لتخفيف الألم

في سياق عمليات الالهاء فان تطبيقات الواقع الافتراضي بكل تأكيد ستكون هي الفائز. التجارب التفاعلية والواقعية، التي تخلقها تكون قادرة للحصول على حصة كبيرة من انتباه الشخص وأخذه بعيدا عما يسبب له الألم. كعامل الهاء، هو أكثر فعالية بكثير من الكتب، ولعب الأطفال، والموسيقى، والأفلام، أو التدليك. وقوة الواقع الافتراضي هي القدرة على نقل المستخدم إلى عالم جديد تمامًا ومنع الواقع الغير سار والمؤلم تمامًا.

كيفية عمل تطبيقات الواقع الافتراضي

ان المرضى الذين هم على وشك الخضوع لعلاج يكتنفه الألم أو المرضى الذين يعانون من آلام مزمنة يتم علاجهم بمساعدة تطبيقات الواقع الافتراضي سواء كانت التفاعلية او غير التفاعليه- وحسب شخصية المريض و طبيعة العلاج الذي يخضع له فإن تطبيقات الواقع الافتراضي تهدف الى تهيئة بيئة استرخاء مثل شاطئ البحر أو غابة تتخللها أشعة الشمس أو بركة سباحة تتضمن العاب الدولفين أو العاب تتطلب المشاركة الفعالة للمريض.

أثناء العلاج، يضع المريض النظارات ليستمتع بمقاطع من العالم الافتراضي أو يتفاعل مع الاشياء الافتراضية باستخدام متحكم يدوي للتوجيه. وفي جميع الحالات فإن مهمة معدات الواقع الافتراضي وبرامجه تتمركز حول تقييد حركة المريض ووضع جسمه وأي خصائص أخرى في بيئة المستشفى. نتيجة لذلك فإن المرضى الذين يخضعون لهذه الاجراءات تظهر عليهم آثار القلق بمستوى منخفض جداً قبل وأثناء العلاج ، كما ان مستوى الألم يكون متدنياً جداً. في بعض الحالات ينغمس المرضى بشكل عميق لدرجة انهم لا يلاحظون جانب الالم المصاحب للاجراء الطبي أثناء العلاج. ويظهر هذا جلياً لدى صغار السن من المرضى الذين ينجرفون في إجراءات تطبيقات الواقع الافتراضي.

ونتيجة لذلك، فإن المرضى الذين يستخدمون الواقع الافتراضي يكون مستوى القلق لديهم أقل بكثير قبل وأثناء العلاج . في بعض الحالات ، يكون الشعور أقمع بحيث ان المرضى قد لا يشعرون بالعلاج الحاصل وتوابعه. هذا يبرز أكثر وبشكل خاص مع المرضى الشباب الذين يميلون إلى تجارب الواقع الافتراضي:

وأيضا هناك اشارة تشير الى أنه حتى الآلام المزمنة يمكن تخفيفها بشكل كبير أثناء جلسات الواقع الافتراضي.

حالات الاستخدام العملي

يتم عمليا استخدام تطبيقات الواقع الإفتراضي في كثير من المرافق الطبية وذلك بهدف التقليل من الآلام والقلق الذي ينتاب المرضى أثناء تنقله عبر مراحل العلاج المختلفة. ويظهر أثر استخدام هذه التطبيقات بشكل واضح لدى الأطفال ، حيث تستخدم هذه الاجراءات لكي يسهل تحقيق مستوى جيد يساعدهم أثناء العلاج. خلافاً للمرضى الكبار فإن صغار المرضى عادة يشعرون بالخوف مما يجعلهم أكثر عدوانيه عندما يدركون أن العلاج سوف يكون مؤلما، إن معالجة طفل يصرخ و يقاوم أمر في غاية الصعوبة ومع استخدام تطبيقات الواقع الإفتراضي يكون الأطفال أكثر تعاوناً أثناء العلاج الطبي، وبالتالي فإن الإجراءات العلاجية تستغرق وقتاً أقل وتكون أقل إيلاماً للطفل المريض.

ومن منظور الآثار الجانبية يمكن القول بأن تطبيق الواقع الإفتراضي عن طريق إستخدام لعبة أو قصة مثيرة في غرفة الطبيب من شأنة أن يجعل الطفل متشوقا الى الزيارة القادمة للطبيب بدلاً من الشعور بالتوجس منها.

هنالك دراسة اخرى تظهر الأثر الإيجابي في تخفيف الألم لدى سيدة وهي في العمل. ولم تختلف القياسات الحيوية الأخرى بين النساء اللاتي استخدم معهن تطبيق الواقع الافتراضي واللاتي لم يستخدم معهن مما يشير الى أن التطبيقات في الواقع الافتراضي يمكن أن تستخدم بكل أمان أثناء العمل.

اثبتت الدراسات أيضا أن تطبيقات الواقع الإفتراضي اصبحت جزءاً مهماً في علاج ضحايا الحروق، حيث تعتبر الحروق من أكثر الإصابات إيلاماً، كما يؤدي علاجها الى تفاقم الألم و تحتاج معالجة الحروق الى عناية ٍ يومية تشمل الغسيل وتغيير الضمادات مما يؤدي الى رفع الشعور بالألم الى مستوى التعذيب البدني وهنا تظهر أهمية تطبيقات الواقع الإفتراضي كأداة فاعلة في التحكم في مستوى الألم بدون استخدام العقاقير الطبية.

جدير بالذكر أن إستخدام الواقع الإفتراضي كمسكن للألم يؤدي الى الحد من استخدام المواد الأفيونية وهي مواد عالية القابلية للإدمان، ويمكن أن ينتج عن استخدامها مشاكل صحية إضافية للمريض، مع استخدام تطبيقات الواقع الإفتراضي يمكن تخفيف الألم الى حدٍ يمكن معه وصف مسكنات للألم لا تحتوي على مواد تؤدي الى الإدمان

تجارب المستشفيات

يقوم العديد من المستشفيات بإجراء تجارب على تطبيقات الواقع الإفتراضي كوسيلة لتخفيف الألم والقلق لدى المرضى، على سبيل المثال تستخدم مستشفى سان جورج في المملكة المتحدة الواقع الإفتراضي أثناء إجراء العمليات الجراحية التي تتطلب ان يكون المريض مستيقظا، وقد اثبتت نتائج استبيانات المرضى ان الالم يخف بنسبة تصل الى 80% والقلق بنسبة 73% خلال مثل هذه العمليات .

كما يقوم مركز هلين جراهام لأمراض السرطان ومعهد البحوث بإستخدام الواقع الإفتراضي في علاج مرضى السرطان.

يقول المرضى بأن الإنغماس في العالم الإفتراضي من شأنه أن يجعلهم يشعرون بأن تجاربهم العلاجية في المستشفى أخف إيلاماً من الواقع المؤلم الحزين الذي يمرون فيه، كما أن الواقع الإفتراضي يساعد صغار السن من المرضى على تجاوز مرحلة العلاج بسلاسةٍ وسهولة، كما يكشف مركز العناية بالطفل بولاية اتلانتا عن قصصٍ مثيرة تدور حول الأطفال المرضى الذين يخضعون لإجراءات مؤلمة ، حيث يخرجهم الواقع الإفتراضي من التحارب القاسية أثنا العلاج ويساعدهم على تجاوز تلك الإجراءات بسهولة.

منتجنا

قامت شركة المجدوعي للتعليم والتدريب مع شركة جاسورين بتطوير منتج بالواقع الإفتراضي صمم خصيصاً لخدمة المؤسسات الطبية بهدف المساعدة في تخفيف معاناة المرضى و آلامهم، حيث يعتبر هذا المنتج أحد مخرجات التعاون المشترك بين الاستثمارات المالية والمعرفية والخبرات المتبادلة بين الشركتين.

نحن نقدم التطبيق من خلال نظام “ساس” والتي تتيج الاشتراك المرن كالاشتراك السنوي أو كل ربع سنة، ويشمل الإشتراك إيجار كامل يشمل معدات الواقع الإفتراضي بالإضافة الى سماعات بدقة 4ك وحزمة من البرامج مع الدعم الكامل المستمر، ويتم تحديث محتوى الواقع الإفتراضي بشكل دائم كما يتم توفير النسخ المستحدثة والمحسنة بصورة منتظمة.

لماذا منتجنا

تزخر الأسواق بتطبيقات الواقع الإفتراضي ولكن من الصعوبة تسخير أي من هذه التطبيقات للإستخدام في المجال الطبي. إن معظم منتجات الواقع الإفتراضي المتاحة في الأسواق مصممة لإستخدام الأشخاص الأصحاء في بيئات عادية ولا تصلح للمرضى الذين يعانون من حالات مرضية معينة.

تم تطوير برنامجنا مع الأخذ بالإعتبار أنه يمكن إستخدامه بينما يكون المريض جالساً أو مستلقياً، كما أنه يمكن للمريض أن يستخدم يداً واحدة في التعامل مع محتوى البرنامج ولا يتطلب حركة نشطة أو حيزاً كبيراً. إن منتج الواقع الإفتراضي الذي نطرحه يمكن استخدامه في أي غرفة بمستشفى ويمكن تعديله ليتوافق مع حالات المرضى المختلفة.

علاوةً على ذلك فإن الحل الذي نقدمه لا يحتاج لجهاز كمبيوتر ، وهو ايضا لا يحتاج لأي توصيلات سلكية، هذه الخصائص تجد استحسانا كبيراً من المستشفيات، يشمل المنتج على عرض تعريفي مستمر يوضح للمرضى ماهية الواقع الإفتراضي ويساعدهم على البدء في إستخدام البرنامج.

عند إعداد الجزء التعريفي اهتممنا بالتركيز على إحتياجات المرضى في المستشفيات والذين قد يبدأ علاجهم بإستخدام منتجنا وهم في حالة من الإجهاد والقلق والإلم، وعمدنا الى جعل المقدمة التعريفية سلسة تراعي حالة المستخدم بقدر الإمكان.

هنالك خاصية أخرى وهي أن منتجنا المطروح تم تصميمة ليناسب الإستخدام بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط. وعند تطويرنا لأغراض إستخدام الواقع الإفتراضي و واقعه المنظور وضعنا في الإعتبار خصائص الثقافة والتقاليد المحلية مما يجعل المحتوى طبيعيا وملائما للمرضى في هذه المنطقة. فعلى سبيل المثال يحتوي البرنامج على تلاوة القرآن الكريم.

Virtual Reality platform for patients experiencing stress, pain, and anxiety

Amer Badarneh

Amer Badarneh

General Manager at Almajdouie Academy & Training Company
Amer Badarneh

Amer Badarneh

General Manager at Almajdouie Academy & Training Company
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Distraction as a pain-relieving technique has been known for a long time. Many of us have seen or even administered it at one point or the other – showing a toy to a child during a doctor’s examination, slapping the opposite buttock lightly during an intramuscular injection, massaging the lower back of a woman in labor. All these simple actions have a common goal – to divert the attention from the source of pain by focusing it on something pleasant or just different.
The distraction technique is based on the concept that the capacity of the human brain is limited. It can process only a certain amount of data at any time. While pain occurs in different parts of the body, it is still processed by the brain, thus, loading the brain with other information might make it allocate less capacity to pain. It can multi-task only up to a certain point, and when a pleasant experience is powerful enough, pain may become less prominent and more tolerable.
Moreover, studies show that mental distraction is not only “in your head”. It may cause responses in other body parts that are affected by pain resulting in more tolerable overall experiences.

VR as a pain-relieving component

In the context of distraction, virtual reality is definitely the winner. The fully immersive, realistic, interactive experiences it creates are capable of occupying a great share of a person’s attention and taking it away from what is causing pain. As a distraction factor, it is much more effective than books, toys, music, films, or massage. The power of VR is in the ability to transport the user into a totally new world and block the unpleasant and painful reality completely.

How it works

Patients about to undergo a painful treatment or suffering chronic pain are offered special VR experiences, either with or without interaction. Depending on the patient’s persona and the treatment condition, the VR theme can be a relaxing environment – a beach, a sun-dappled forest, an underwater swim with dolphins, – or a game requiring the active involvement of the patient.
During the treatment, the patient is wearing a headset and either calmly enjoys the virtual world or interacts with the virtual objects via a joystick. In all cases, the special VR equipment and software take into account the possible limitations of the patient’s movement, their body position, and other specifics of the hospital environment.
As a result, patients using VR display significantly lower anxiety before and during the treatment and confirm a lower level of pain. In some cases, patients are immersed so deeply that they do not even notice the unpleasant treatment; this is especially prominent with young patients who tend to be truly carried away by the VR experiences:
There are observations showing that sometimes even chronic pain can be reduced by VR sessions:

Practical use cases

Virtual reality is already in use in many medical facilities to reduce pain and anxiety in patients during various treatments. Its effect is especially visible in children’s hospitals where VR is used to make a child more cooperative during treatment. Unlike adults, young patients are often very scared and may become aggressive when they realize that it’s going to hurt. Treating a screaming and thrashing child can become a real challenge.
With the use of VR, children are much more likely to become cooperative during medical treatment. As a result, the procedures take less time and are less traumatic for the child. As a side effect, we can point out that the application of VR with an exciting game or story in a doctor’s room can even make the child look forward to the next visit rather than fear it.
Another study shows a positive pain-reducing effect on women in labor. At the same time, other vital parameters did not differ between women who used VR and those who did not, which leads to the conclusion that VR can be considered safe for use during labor.
VR has proved to be a powerful pain-relieving component in the treatment of burn victims. Burns are among the most painful injuries, and their treatment makes the patients suffer even more. With burns, the wounds require everyday care – washing, dressings change – that raises the pain to the level of excruciating. Virtual reality has tremendous potential here as a means of drug-free pain control.
What should be also mentioned in the context of virtual reality as a pain reliever is its potential to reduce the usage of opioids. Opioids are highly addictive which can create additional problems for the patient. With VR, pain is reduced to a level where a less harmful, non-addictive drug can be prescribed.

Hospital experience

Many hospitals are experimenting with VR as a method to reduce pain and anxiety in patients. St. George’s Hospital in the UK uses VR during wide-awake surgeries. According to patient surveys, 80% felt less pain and 73% were less anxious during their surgeries.
Helen F. Graham Cancer Center & Research Institute applies virtual reality in cancer patient treatment. Patients say that immersion into a virtual world makes their hospital experience less unpleasant taking them away from the sad and painful reality.
Similarly, VR helps young cancer patients go through their treatments. Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta shows exciting VR stories to kids who need to undergo certain painful procedures taking their attention off the unpleasant experiences and helping them come through them easier.

Our solution

Together, Almajdouie Holding and Jasoren built a special VR solution designed for medical institutions and intended to help reduce pain in patients. Our product is a joint result of financial investments, knowledge, and expertise shared by both companies.
We offer a SaaS solution available at a quarterly or yearly subscription. The subscription includes the lease of a complete set of VR equipment with a 4K resolution headset, a software package, and full support. The VR content supplied as part of our product is constantly updated, and new improved and enhanced versions are available on a regular basis.

How is our solution different?

The market is full of virtual reality applications but you can hardly adapt any of them for use in a medical institution. Most of the available VR products are designed for healthy people in ordinary environments and may be unusable by patients with certain conditions.
Our product is developed taking into account that it might be used while sitting or lying down, that sometimes patients can use only one hand to manipulate the VR content, that it should not include active movements or require large space. The VR product we offer can be used in a standard hospital room and adjusted to the position and state of a particular patient.
What’s more, our solution does not need a PC or a laptop and is completely wireless. In the hospital conditions, these features are especially appreciated.
The product comes with a comprehensive onboarding flow introducing the patients to VR and helping them get started. In creating the onboarding sequence, we specifically focused on the needs of hospital patients who may start using our product in a state of stress, anxiety, or pain. We tried to make the introduction as smooth and user-friendly as possible.
And another thing – our solution was created for use in the Middle East region. In developing the VR themes and storylines, we took into account the local cultural specifics and traditions making virtual reality create experiences that would be the most natural and relaxing for people in the region.